Florida’s 2020 Minimum Wage Increase
On January 1, 2020, Florida’s minimum wage increased from $8.46 to $8.56 an hour ($12.84 for overtime). If employers have not already done so, they should make appropriate pay adjustments for their minimum wage earners. Employers with minimum-wage employees (including tipped employees) that have already issued their first payroll for the year without this ten-cent adjustment, should remedy any underpayment as soon as possible but no later than the next payroll by providing the pay difference, including any additional overtime, for the prior work week.
Failing to pay non-exempt employees Florida’s statutory minimum wage can result in claims against employers pursuant to Section 24, Article X of the State Constitution and Section 448.110, Florida Statutes. The maximum tip credit ($3.02) that can be taken by Florida employers with tipped employees will remain the same, but the direct wage paid to tipped employees will increase from $5.44 to $5.54 an hour.
In addition to raising the minimum wage, Florida employers are required to post a minimum wage notice in a conspicuous and accessible location. You can download the 2020 Florida Minimum Wage Notice from the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity’s website. This notice is in addition to the requirement that employers post a notice regarding the federal minimum wage (which has not been increased). There will also be commercially available Florida-specific “all-in-one” posters that satisfy both the federal and state notice requirements.