Skip to Content
Insights Labor & Employment Blog

Florida Raises Minimum Wage

December 14, 2020 Wage and Hour

Effective January 1, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage rate will increase from $8.56 per hour to $8.65 per hour. Florida’s minimum wage law applies to all employees in the state of Florida who are covered by the federal minimum wage law. For “tipped employees” who meet eligibility requirements for the tip…

Florida Phase 3: Employees Returning to Work and What It Means for Employers

October 8, 2020 Employer Policies

With Florida’s governor implementing Phase 3 of re-opening the state, businesses should update their COVID-19 response plans and anticipate issues that may arise as more employees are permitted to return to work. Among other provisions, Executive Order 20-244 provides for: Unrestricted staffing of worksites and implementation of the final phasing-in of employees…

Important Changes to FFCRA Leave Requirements – Including a Change to the Definition of Health Care Provider

September 21, 2020 Healthcare

On September 11, 2020, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) issued revised regulations addressing the availability of employee leave under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). These regulations were issued in response to a federal court finding that the DOL exceeded its authority in its original regulations. The FFCRA,…